How can I Purge or Prefetch files?

Purge

Deleting files from the data centres is very common when using a CDN Resource. Especially if you or your webmaster are constantly uploading and updating content on your website. Deleting files from the data centres so that they can be repopulated with your new content is known as Purging.

If you want to Purge files from your origin server you can use the Purging tool inside the Settings area of your CDN Resource or our API. You can Purge files individually using specific path to them, or all of them at the same time. 

Prefetch

Requesting files from your origin server so that they're sent to the cache servers is a function that you may need to do every now and then. For example if you've recently uploaded a large file onto your server, you can quickly prompt the cache servers to get that file and force them to cache it. This is known as Prefetching.

If you want to Prefetch files from your origin server you can use the Prefetching tool inside the Settings area of your CDN Resource or our API. You can Prefetch a file by specifying the path to it.

If there already is an existing file in the CDN Network with the same file name as the incoming file, you must Purge the old file first before Prefetching the new one. You can do that by first running the purge request on the file as mentioned above and only after that running the prefetch.

 

Important

There is a limit of 2000 URLs per request and 20 requests per 5 minutes, 180 requests per hour for each customer account (not Resource) in both Purge and Prefetch. These limits apply to both API and Purging/Prefetching tool inside the Settings area of your CDN Resource.